Cross-border cooperation

Lahr is a member of the tri-national Upper Rhine City Network (Städtenetz Oberrhein), the Vis-à-Vis joint administration, and the Eurodistrict.
In addition to these cross-border activities, Lahr also has always had good connections with its twin towns and cities Dole, Belleville and Alajuela.
Pupils at Lahr’s schools can benefit from a diverse school exchange programme which also involves cross-border exchanges with schools in France.

The Vis-à-Vis joint administration, based in Erstein, was founded in 2004 as a local joint administration under the Karlsruhe Agreement.

Current members of the joint administration are eight Baden municipalities (Lahr, Friesenheim, Meissenheim, Ringsheim, Schwanau, Kappel-Grafenhausen, Rust and Kippenheim) and the Alsace municipal association of the Canton of Erstein (28 municipalities). In the administrative region, which has its base and offices in Erstein, there are 140,000 residents. The chairman is Lord Mayor Dr Wolfgang G. Müller (Lahr) and the deputy chairman is Mayor Jean-Marc Willer (Erstein).

Further information about the Vis-à-Vis joint administration can be found here:


The Strasbourg-Ortenau Eurodistrict was founded on 17th October 2005 to stimulate the sustainable development of a truly European metropolis with around one million inhabitants that would become an independent region in which to work and live.

In particular, the Eurodistrict was designed to take cross-border collaboration between the municipalities to a new level. Further, the Eurodistrict would provide the framework of regulations to help to overcome the continuing restrictions on people's day-to-day lives as a result of the border situation. The Eurodistrict also serves as a model for other border regions in the European Union.

The Eurodistrict initially encompassed the district of Ortenau and the urban municipality of Strasbourg (formerly CUS, renamed Eurométropole in 2015). These were joined in 2015 by the municipal associations of Erstein, Benfeld and Rhinau.

You can find further information here:


Upper Rhine City Network
Lahr is a member of the tri-national Upper Rhine City Network (Städtenetz Oberrhein), a collaboration between the region's eleven largest cities in Germany, France and Switzerland.

The aims of this collaboration are regular exchange on current topics, such as education, research, urban development, mobility, culture and tourism from special municipal perspectives, and the development of other joint initiatives in the sectors. Roland Ries, the mayor of Strasbourg, was appointed as spokesperson for the network in February 2013.

Further information about the city network can be found here.